Legendary Tales. Timeless Flavors.

Legendary Tales. Timeless Flavors.

Legendary Tales. Timeless Flavors.

Legendary Tales. Timeless Flavors.

Thanksgiving 2019

At This Time All Of Our Thanksgiving Reservations Have Been Filled
Thanksgiving Dinner at Longfellow's Wayside Inn
Cozy fireplaces, wholesome, delicious food, family atmosphere! We start taking reservations on Monday, October 28, 2019 at 8:00 a.m. by phone only; 978-443-1776

Hours and Reservations

At Longfellow's Wayside Inn, enjoy timeless culinary classics in one of the most atmospheric and historic settings in the entire country. True to our mission, you can enjoy hearty New England meals such as Prime Rib, Lobster Pie, and Turkey Dinners, as well as some delicious and lighter modern classics! Whether it is a romantic dinner for two or a large gathering of family or friends, we look forward to serving you.
Longfellow's Wayside Inn is open every day of the year except Independence Day (July 4th) and Christmas Day (December 25th). Our last seating Christmas Eve (December 24th) is at 1:30 PM, to allow our staff time with their families.
BREAKFAST/BRUNCH: We regret that due to capacity, we only offer breakfast to overnight guests. We do not offer brunch.
LUNCH:
Served Monday through Saturday, from 11:30 AM, with the last seating at 3:00 PM.
DINNER: Served Monday through Saturday starting at 5:00 PM. Sunday Dinner is served all day starting at 12:00 noon, with the last seating at 7:30 PM.
Our very popular Old Bar is a full service bar and features libations and a special light bar menu. We do not offer the full restaurant menu in the Old Bar. See bar menu
For reservations call 978.443.1776.
View Our Dining and Event Rooms
Our guests may dine or host functions in a variety of unique spaces at Longfellow's Wayside Inn. All dining rooms have fireplaces (operated seasonally), period decor, their own special charm, and vary in size to accommodate both small and large parties.

The Old Bar

In 1707, The Old Bar was the downstairs room of the original two-room two-story house built by David How for his family. This room was the heart of the home where all of the cooking, eating, gathering, and work was done. In 1716, when How was granted a license to operate a “House of Public Entertainment," this room became the first “public” room of the Inn for food and drinks. A “hidden” staircase tucked behind a small door provided a discreet escape for stagecoach travelers to upstairs bedrooms. Graced with an old wood-beamed ceiling from which pewter mugs dangle and capture the warm light of the generous fireplace, this room continues as our full-service bar and is a favorite refuge steeped in history for guests to gather.

The Tap Room

This room was added to the original Inn around 1795, as increased tavern business necessitated a larger cooking space and an additional fireplace. For many years, this room served as the main bar for the Inn (and the name stuck – “Tap” being another name for “bar”). Now a dining room with old beamed ceilings, wooden floors, and two fireplaces (one with a beehive oven), this room has a warm, charming atmosphere for friends and family to enjoy our hearty New England meals.

The Washington Room

In 1775, when General George Washington travelled to Cambridge to take command of the Continental Army, he travelled along the Old Post Road, right in front of the Inn. A stone monument outside our front door commemorates this historic passage and this room is named in Washington’s honor. An addition to the original 1707 Howe home, this room was used by Edward and Cora Lemon, owners and innkeepers from 1897 to 1921, as a public dining room and is so used to this day. Although one of our smallest dining rooms, its warm wood paneling and large fireplace create an intimate space for special celebrations.

The Old Kitchen

Part of a separate house that was incorporated into the main Inn building sometime after 1796, this room was originally a kitchen with its large fireplace and a beehive oven used to prepare meals for the many travelers along the Old Post Road. A gravity-fed brass clock jack mounted to the fireplace turned the spit to roast joints of meat. With some of the oldest surviving wood beams and paneling at the Inn, some which wear visible scars from the 1955 fire, and an old cupboard stocked with pewterware, this room is often requested by our guests for its special ambiance. In fact, this room was Henry Ford's favorite room for entertaining guest while he owned the Inn.

The Main Dining Room

The last addition to the Inn, this is the largest and newest of all our dining rooms. Created in 1924 by former owner Henry Ford, this room originally had a much more rustic appearance. Today, this room is more formal, decorated in a light, traditional colonial revival style. With abundant windows, brass light fixtures, and a beautiful fireplace, this room has become one of the most requested rooms for dining and larger functions.

The Innkeeper's Room

The Innkeeper's Room was originally a separate building added on to the Old Kitchen, and likely used as a storage room. The fireplace and wood paneling were installed by Henry Ford after he purchased the Inn in 1923. Ford used this room as part of his private quarters when he was in residence at the Inn. The antique wood walls, old floorboards, beamed ceiling and fireplace create a charming atmosphere for our guests today.

The How Room

This room was added by innkeeper Ezekiel How (sometimes spelled Howe) in the mid-1770s to serve as living, eating, and sleeping quarters for the growing business. On completion, it doubled the size of the original Inn. Originally called the back parlor (it is located behind and could be accessed from the front parlor -- today’s Longfellow Parlor museum room), this room is now named in honor of the How(e) family, founders of the Inn. This charming, fireplaced room with soft, red painted wood trim serves as one of our smaller dining rooms.

The Ballroom (New Hall)

First referenced in 1796 by Ezekiel How as the “long chamber,” this room was subsequently converted into a large room for dancing, music and entertainment by Adam How, and to this day, features a small fiddler’s stand to the left of the fireplace at the far end of the room. The black painted ceiling disguised smoke from the original candled (now electrified) chandeliers. Reconstructed during our 1950’s renovation, this room is decorated with custom hand-stenciled walls, cushioned “wallflower” seat-benches, and two fireplaces. It is a favorite room for medium-sized functions.

The Hobgoblin Room (Old Hall)

The Hobgoblin Room was originally built in the mid-1700s for public receptions, dancing, and entertainment as part of the second addition to the original Inn. It soon became too small for public use, and a larger hall (the “New Hall”, now The Ballroom) was added in its place. Its current name derives from a story told by a former How family member who claimed to have seen a ghostly apparition floating through this room on a dark night many years ago. During the Inn’s 1955 renovation, this room was reconstructed as an entertainment space, with rich wood paneling, beamed ceilings and a fireplace. It is now mostly used for functions.

The Ford Room

A former wood/carriage shed, in 1899, it was attached to the Inn by innkeeper Edward Lemon and opened as an art gallery to display his collection of paintings and objects d’art. After purchasing the Inn in 1923, Henry Ford added a bay window and used this room as his personal bedroom during his visits to the Inn. A double-benched fireplace alcove provides a cozy place for intimate conversations and a large iron chandelier complements the vaulted ceiling. Today, this room is mostly reserved for function use.

The Patio (seasonal)

Enjoy our delicious lunch menu al fresco on our brick patio tucked under our great oak trees and overlooking The Wayside Inn grounds, including the beautiful Longfellow Memorial Gardens. Open daily for lunch (weather permitting) from late spring through early fall.

Dining Menus

Special Dietary Needs

At Longfellow’s Wayside Inn, we are happy to accommodate various dietary needs our diners may have including: low-salt, gluten-free, vegan, and vegetarian.  Please be sure to discuss any allergies or restrictions with your server.

 For our gluten-free diners, we offer the following menu:

Appetizers and Salads
  • Oysters on the half shell
  • Shrimp Cocktail
  • Fresh Melon, raspberry sherbet
  • Caesar Salad*, without croutons
  • Garden Salad, cranberry vinaigrette
  • Jerusha Peach Mold
  • Innkeeper’s Salad
Main Course
  • Roast Prime Rib*, au jus
  • Grilled Chicken Breast
  • Boston Schrod, broiled with butter
  • Grilled Salmon, fresh lemon
  • Fresh Swordfish Steak
  • Roasted Duck, served crispy
  • Seasoned Filet Mignon*
  • Black Angus Sirloin Strip Steak*

Above Entrees served with Fresh Vegetable and Potato. Please note that our rolls, muffins, and sauces all contain glutens.

Dessert
  • Choice of Ice Cream or Sherbet
  • Jerusha Peach Mold, pineapple cream dressing
  • Indian Pudding served with vanilla ice cream

*Consuming raw or undercooked meats, poultry, seafood, shell fish, or eggs may increase your risk of food-borne illness.

 

Visit
72 Wayside Inn Road, Sudbury, MA 01776 USA
Email
info@wayside.org
Call
+1.978.443.1776
Follow us on social networks.
Subscribe to our email news and events.
© Copyright 2020. The Wayside Inn Foundation. All Rights Reserved.