The Ballroom (Old Hall)
First referenced in 1796 by Ezekiel How as the “long chamber,” this room was subsequently converted into a large room for dancing, music and entertainment by Adam How, and to this day, features a small fiddler’s stand to the left of the fireplace at the far end of the room. The black painted ceiling disguised smoke from the original candled (now electrified) chandeliers. Reconstructed during our 1950’s renovation, this room is decorated with custom hand-stenciled walls, cushioned “wallflower” seat-benches, and two fireplaces. It is a favorite room for medium-sized functions.
The Hobgoblin Room (Old Hall)
The Hobgoblin Room was originally built in the mid-1700s for public receptions, dancing, and entertainment as part of the second addition to the original Inn. It soon became too small for public use, and a larger hall (the “New Hall”, now The Ballroom) was added in its place. Its current name derives from a story told by a former How family member who claimed to have seen a ghostly apparition floating through this room on a dark night many years ago. During the Inn’s 1955 renovation, this room was reconstructed as an entertainment space, with rich wood paneling, beamed ceilings and a fireplace. It is now mostly used for functions.
Jerusha Howe Gallery
This gallery, named in honor of one of our most famous How residents, showcases items curated from our permanent collection, as well as temporary wall-mounted exhibits. This room is also occasionally used for private functions.